img_2017

Milan Apartments – Part 3

I’m moving again. Yes, believe it. Saying I have the worst of luck with accommodation in Milan is an understatement. In contrary, there are upsides to the apartment I’m currently staying in. For one it is better than the previous one in terms of the building condition, it has a balcony with a view, it’s in a fairly good location and it contains everything I need (stove, bathroom, room & utilities included with the rent).

The issue at hand is the fact that my new roommate is an early riser and I mean he wakes up at 3am to go to work. Why he mentioned this the day before I moved in is beyond me. I assumed I could get through it because I thought, hey, I only have a few months left here. I could save money and it’s still within walking distance to my work. I was dead wrong!img_2017It turns out I’m really a very light sleeper. Every time he woke up I could hear him yawn, moving things around to closing the door everyday he goes to work. I’ve complained since I moved in and he swears he is quiet. The truth is, aside from the small noises, I can hear him fart, burp and snore. Once, he brought home his girlfriend in the wee hours of the night and I, too, was up until 6am. If that wasn’t enough, I noticed he’s been coming in my room while I’m away. This is definitely not ok. I confirmed to move out at the end of the month.

In all honestly, I think there is no way to know whether you will get along with your roommate or not from the first day you meet them. At least now, I know what I will or will not tolerate and I’m not afraid to speak up.

What are your do’s and don’ts about living with people and/or when you look for a place to live with roommates? Do you share some of these needs I’ve listed below?

  1. Privacy
  2. Space
  3. Cleanliness
  4. Respect
  5. Location
  6. Building Condition
  7. Noise
  8. Guests are ok – depending on the size of the apartment.
  9. No party
  10. Pets – depends
  11. Safety
  12. Affordability

https://astintabroad.wordpress.com/2016/10/01/milan-apartments/

Leave a Reply

