source: http://lilou73.tumblr.com/

How I Got Here

By the time you read this, I’m likely half way in the process of moving abroad. First, I’d like to take you back in time and tell you a little story.

It was a normal work day today or, so I thought. I came in thinking about finishing up on a few creative campaigns that needed to launch by the end of day when…. life happened.

It was a typical ritual morning. I was at my desk, getting ready to save my files and somehow, I got distracted. I looked up, took a moment and realized there’s an eerie feeling I was getting that something serious was going to happen. Call it human instinct but, you just know. My first thought was, did I miss an email about a meeting that I should be in and didn’t know or remembered? Yep, just as I checked my emails I saw a company wide message come thru. In my gut, I knew it wasn’t good. Not knowing exactly what it was going to be, I walked in to a conference room with the rest of my team. There I was sitting in the conference room and waiting for other members in the company to settle. I looked around the room feeling rigid and just the fear of the unknown made it uneasy for everyone.

Shortly after, it was announced that our L.A. office was closing and that all of the work for the company would be done out of NYC location. Oooof! I’ve never been in this situation before but, different thoughts came to mind. WTF! Seriously? No heads up? No warnings? You just have to take it like it is. I broke down and cried next to my boss.

Over the year with this company, I’ve met the most fun group of individuals and the most dedicated people I’ve ever seen. Good and bad sides combined, personality clashes or little quirks made this company and my year a hell of a good time. I will never forget everyone, no matter how much or little interaction I’ve had with any of them. I am just sad that the relationships we’ve built and all of the hard work is now coming to an end.

I’ve been emotional all day and right now, different thoughts are whirling around in my mind. Although, in the end nothing can ever prepare you for something like this and no one could really know ahead of time when something this big will happen. I can sit here and blame myself for not seeing the signs or I should’ve known. Although, that’s not really what it’s about. For me, it’s saying good-bye that is the hardest about this situation and wrapping my head around what the future holds is what matters the most.

For some time now, I’ve thought one day I would want to advance my skills and go back to school to further my education. As of today, the decision in moving forward in pursuing my masters degree became clearer. I’m very excited that I will be living in Europe for the next year, a dream come true for many of you (hi mom!) who knows me and my obsession with traveling in and out of Europe every chance I get. Of course, this blog will be updated every Friday and Saturday (for now) with bits and pieces of information about my experiences of moving or living abroad.

I am sure there will be lots of challenges ahead but, what a better way to write about it, in hopes, that all of you can learn a thing or two about life abroad. Staying strong and positive….

Ciao,

ASA

Good read: http://www.theminimalists.com/cal/

Featured Image Source: http://lilou73.tumblr.com/

One thought on “How I Got Here

  1. […] Last Friday, I’ve officially departed from the company I’ve been working for in the last year and a half. It has been a long time coming but, I am finally done and ready to move on to my next adventure. https://astintabroad.wordpress.com/2015/08/03/how-i-got-here/ […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

